Do it yourself – Light tent on the cheap

8 12 2007

The easiest way of getting those professional looking macro stock photos is by using a light tent, however like most things in photography it costs more than what it is necessary worth. So after reading this post, I was inspired to make my own DIY light box for next to no money. Here is an example of what I was able to achieve with this tent and a simple desk lamp:

Ingredients (bought in Singapore) Total: SGD6.36:

  • Carton box, as square as possible. I got a wine box from a friendly attendant at NTUC Fairprice. The dimensions of my box are 34x24x32cm (WHD).
  • Baking paper. I got Glad Bake paper (5 metres long, 30cm wide) from NTUC Fairprice. SGD2.81
  • One black piece and one white piece of poster paper. Got it from Popular. SGD2.00
  • Cutting knife. Got it from Popular. SGD1.00
  • Black tape. I got isolation tape, but I think that black duct tape would be better. Got it from Popular. SGD0.55
  • Light source. I used my existing simple desk lamp.
  • Glue.

Step 1:

Step 1

  • Flatten out your box.
  • Cut off the side that would have been the bottom of your box.
  • Cut “windows” in the three remaining sides, leaving about 3cm at the edges for stability.

Step 2:

Step 2

  • Fold your box into a “box” shape.
  • Reinforce the back of your box with plenty of tape.

Step 3:

Step 3

  • Tape the baking paper firmly in place, try to get it as tight as possible.
  • Cut a piece of the black poster paper to fit on the back of your box, and then glue it in place.

Step 4:

Step 4

  • Drape your white poster board/paper inside your box.
  • Point your light source(s) into the box to gain the desired lighting.

Viola! now you can do those pro shots!


Actions

Information

6 responses

5 01 2008
NatMC

Brilliant tip, thanks a mill!

16 04 2008
Charithra

Wow… great work dude… thanks for posting

30 05 2008
Nilu

This is really cool 🙂

15 01 2009
Cherie

Wow! This has been a Godsend to me! Thank you so much for your generosity in posting this! I hope to be able to use this idea and eBay to make it through as I recover from surgery. I hope you are being richly blessed yourself!

24 01 2009
rudi niemeijer » Fotografische koppelingen

[…] DIY light tent on the cheap […]

28 10 2010
Money Business :

desk lamps that uses compact fluorescent bulbs are much better than those that still uses incandescent lamps,`-

Leave a comment